The 2012 Soul Train Awards Moves To Las Vegas, Centric Announces Nominations [Full List]


What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.

At least that is what BET hopes with their 2012 Soul Train Awards officially moving to Sin City for its annual celebration of music and honors.

Of course MSDTV has the full scoop of what to expect in this three-day -music filled extravaganza…

This year’s Soul Train Awards will record on November 8th at Planet Hollywood’s PH Live in Las Vegas and premier on BET and Centric Sunday, November 25th at 9 pm.

The network sent out the exclusive details:

Soul Train Awards ’12, hosted by the Original King of Comedy and “Soul Man” actor Cedric “The Entertainer,” is headed to Las Vegas for its annual night of music and honors.  Featuring a Lifetime Achievement Award presentation to New Edition and soon-to-be-announced live performances from today’s music superstars, Soul Train Awards ‘12 will premiere simultaneously on BET and Centric on Sunday, November 25th at 9pm*.

This year, with two nominations, including Album of the Year, R. Kelly will be the most nominated artist in Soul Train Awards history.  R&B superstar Usher is also making Soul Train Awards history with five nominations including nods for Song of the Year and Album of the Year; surpassing both Michael Jackson and Beyonce in total nominations in a lifetime.

International songstress Estelle leads women in nominations with three nods including Song of the Yearfor “Thank You” and Best Female Soul/R&B Artist.  Rapper Nas also receives three nominations, includingAlbum of the Year for “Life is Good.”  Singers Trey Songz and John Legend, who received two nods each, will compete in the Song of the Year category with Estelle, Usher, Tyrese and Wale.  The late Whitney Houston and Amy Winehouse each received a posthumous nomination.  Whitney Houston in the Best Gospel Inspirational Performance category for her collaboration with Jordin Sparks on “Celebrate” from the Sparkle soundtrack, and Amy Winehouse in the Best International Performance Category for “Our Day Will Come.”


Check out the full nominations listing below:


Best New Artist

Elle Varner

Emeli Sande

J. Cole

Luke James

Robert Glasper


Centric Award


Esperanza Spalding

Gary Clark Jr.

Leah Labelle



Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance

BeBe Winans-America America

Fred Hammond-Feel Good

Marvin Sapp-My Testimony

Mary Mary-Go Get It

Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks-Celebrate


Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

2 Chainz feat. Drake-No Lie

Wale feat. Miguel-Lotus Flower Bomb


Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz-Mercy

Young Jeezy feat. Ne-Yo-Leave You Alone


Best R&B/Soul Female Artist



Keyshia Cole

Mary J. Blige

Melanie Fiona


Best R&B/Soul Male Artist


Robin Thicke

Trey Songz




Album of the Year

The One– Eric Benet

Channel Orange-Frank Ocean

Life Is Good-Nas

Write Me Back-R. Kelly

Looking For Myself-Usher


Song of the Year

Estelle-Thank You

John Legend feat. Ludacris-Tonight (Best You Ever Had)

Trey Songz– Heart Attack



Wale feat. Miguel-Lotus Flower Bomb


The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

Thank You-Estelle (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene “The Champ” Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)

Tonight (Best You Ever Had)-John Legend feat. Ludacris (Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher “Ludacris” Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel “Miguel”, Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)

Daughters-Nas (Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)

Share My Love-R. Kelly (Writer: Robert Kelly)

Climax-Usher (Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean “Redd Stylez” Fenton, Thomas “Diplo” Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)


Best Dance Performance

Beyoncé-Love On Top

Chris Brown-Turn Up The Music

Nicki Minaj-Starships

Rihanna-Where Have You Been

Usher-Scream Awards: Best Caribbean Performance

Cover Drive-Bajan Style

Damien “Junior Gong” Marley-SuperHeavy

Jimmy Cliff-Rebirth

Matisyahu-Spark Seeker

Sean Paul-Tomahawk Technique Best International Performance

Amy Winehouse-Our Day Will Come

Daley feat. Marsha Ambrosius-Alone Together

Emeli Sande-Next To Me

Estelle-Thank You

Gotye feat. Kimbra-Somebody (That I Used To Know)

Rebecca Ferguson-Nothing’s Real But Love Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group

Chris Botti-Impressions

Kenny Garrett-Seeds From The Underground

Melody Gardot-The Absence

The Robert Glasper Experiment-Black Radio

Tony Bennett-Isn’t It Romantic Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group

Ben Tankard-Full Tank

Brian Culbertson-DREAMS

Cassandra Wilson-Another Country

Esperanza Spalding-Radio Music Society

Peter White-Here We Go

Stay Tuned.